Around the charming streets of Verona

stairs-of-castel-san-pietro

Italy is one of those countries which, no matter how many times you visit it, you will always feel like there is much more left to discover. I don’t know about you but this is exactly how I feel; it is as if each Italian city is charming in a different way and this explains why I consider Italy to be my all-time favourite destination. Today, I will give you a glimpse of the stunning city of Verona, up in the North of Italy, which I easily fell in love with.

Talking about love, one of the reasons why Verona is so sought-after is because Shakespeare set his famous love tragedy, Romeo and Juliet, in this charming Italian city.  In fact, I must admit that, being a student of English myself and an avid lover of literature, visiting La Casa di Giulietta was one of my favourite parts of the trip. As you enter the place you are greeted with two opposing walls covered extensively in writing since it is the custom of the place that visitors write their names on it as a token of their presence. As you enter the courtyard, you will most definitely feel overwhelmed upon witnessing the most famous balcony in the world as well as Juliet’s bronze statue.

20150921_145041

Another attraction which is hard to forget is the majestic Arena di Verona which was actually built in the 1st century and is situated in Piazza Bra. What I suggest when planning to visit the arena is to visit it in daylight, when it’s open for tourists, but also try to check if anyone is playing in it while you’re visiting, so you’ll have the opportunity to be there in the evening as well. For instance, whilst in Verona we went to an Il Volo concert, which was later aired on Rai. (Online link to concert: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x3771f9)

Personally, both experiences were overwhelming but the evening experience was like something out of a dream, probably because our seats were in the penultimate row from the top,  So you can imagine what a view we had from up there, especially when everyone put their flashlights on!

arena-di-verona

Bonus: When I visited, my friends and I actually stayed in a cosy flat about 5 mins away (on foot) from the Arena, owned by Dimore Verona, a company which has several apartments around the city at affordable prices. Take a look: http://www.booking.com/hotel/it/dimore-verona.en-gb.html?aid=357026;label=gog235jc-hotel-XX-it-dimoreNverona-unspec-mt-com-L%3Aen-O%3AwindowsSnt-B%3Achrome-N%3AXX-S%3Abo-U%3AXX;sid=ff6e5e5672c3368d08ecfcfffc9a8611;dist=0&sb_price_type=total&type=total&

Even though so far I have solely focused on main attractions, I must say that walking around the streets of Verona is also an experience in its own. I mean look at these pretty colourful houses, in Piazza Bra, which look like ones out of a fairytale.

verona-4

I was also left impressed by the beautiful lake that passes through the city, Fiume Adige, which complements the houses surrounding it and provides the perfect backdrop for a photograph.

fiume-adige

If you’re one of those people who, just like me, can never get enough of spectacular views, then I suggest that you should definitely put Castel San Pietro on your travel plan as going up its stairs (its numerous stairs, I might add) will prove totally rewarding.

view-from-castel-san-pietro

And one last thing, if you’re looking for a fancy place to dine out in the evening whilst in Verona, I suggest going to Piazza Bra (where the Arena is situated) and taking a seat in one of the many restaurants there, because apart from the amazing food you’ll get there, you’ll enjoy such views as this below. Pretty romantic if you ask me!

piazza-bra-restaurant

Final tips:

How we got to Verona from Malta: An Alitalia flight- Malta-Rome-Verona

How to move around Verona: Basically, all of the attractions mentioned above are within short distance of each other so good news… you can walk!

Photos weren’t enough? Go watch the vlog my friends and I created whilst in the città dell’amorehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v87l_bH5toQ

PS: All photos belong to me.

Love,

Claudia 🙂

Leave a Reply

